For hundreds of years, Chernobyl town used be home for many Jewish people. Today, signs of this could be seen on the abandoned streets of the town and on the cemetery. Probably, the most remarkable sign is an abandoned synagogue.
The synagogue was built in the end of 19th century not very far from the town center. Two storey building made out of red bricks used to be the main synagogue (in some periods of times, there were up to tem synagogues in the town).
As long the religion was forbidden in the Soviet Union, the synagogue was closed in 1930. In 1945, this building was occupied by military registration and enlistment office. It continued to operate there till the year of the accident.